Rude Boy (Prince Tribute) – Infinite Rhythms Music Podcast

 

For me it was the song Controversy. With its straight driving beat and lyrics that questioned the norms around us, this song commanded my attention. Before that I was vaguely aware of Prince but really didn’t pay attention. But once I became aware I quickly went into education mode listening to his earlier 3 albums, to fan mode, to outright admiration mode in quick order, and I’ve been locked in every since.

The group of songs I’ve concentrated on are from his first album up to Purple Rain. This body of work I like to describe as dirty, dark, funky, raw, nasty, wild and loose. The stripped down original sound consisted of guitars, keys, drum and bass guitar, that’s it. It wasn’t until the song Purple Rain in which the sound became “more” that what is was before, but that’s a discussion for another day.

It’s terribly hard to choose songs to highlight when you really want to include everything. They aren’t chosen around any parameter such as most popular or my favorites or anything like that. It just is what it is. I just started with Controversy because that what started me off.  Enjoy music from Rude Boy.

Playlist:
Controversy
Uptown
I Wanna Be Your Lover
Soft and Wet
1999
Little Red Corvette
Bambi
Just as Long as Were Together
Sexuality
Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad
Irresistible Bitch
D.M.S.R.
Head
Let’s Work
Dirty Mind
Lady Cab Driver
Erotic City (Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive) (Original 12_  Version)
Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
When Doves Cry

 

Leave a Reply

