Standards Reinvented

I usually don’t blog about without showing video but I decided to do something different today. The other night a got a chance to see the Clayton State University Jazz Combo play at their Fall recital in Spivey Hall. The 9 piece band started off a little slow, but right before the intermission they seem to be hitting their stride and for the rest of the night they played a number of pieces that kept my head nodding for the rest of the night. Noted numbers were “Till There Was You” a Meredith Wilson tune, “Big Bertha” a Duke Pearson tune, and “Autumn In New York” by Vernon Duke. If you have a chance the Clayton State Community Big Band will be performing in Spivey Hall on Monday, December 1st. I’ll try to have video next time.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s